Skip to content

Ghostwriting 101: The Challenge is in the Secret

May 3, 2012

Many people ask me what I do as a ghostwriter. The answer has evolved over the years, from “I write for other people” to “I’m a writer.” Short and sweet, I write for other people, but more than that, I am hired to do a specific task, which changes from job to job.

Some people who hire me want a look-thru, what your high school English teacher did when she saw your absentee note. She didn’t really correct it, but she wanted to. She didn’t comment in red pen, for she restrained herself with shaking hands. The same is true for some of the pieces passing my desk. The project may involve a glance over, an okay, this is fine, though I could give my opinion in a few places, suggesting grammatical changes, or omitting tedious adverbs. But I don’t. Many times I can turn over products in a few days, unless they want detailed suggestions. :)

Others commission me for an assignment requiring me to sit in on all the meetings in their various departments, filtering through the information and writing down basic facts in a simplistic, readable format: a manual. Meetings may occur on a monthly basis, stalling the mission, and creating a longer time-frame until completion.

Then there are individuals I sign with who want a memoir fictionalized. These ventures can range from English teacher excuses to filtering through memories by chronicling and narrating them. Depending on whether an editor and or publisher is included, this process may take over a year to produce the first draft.

But I love ghostwriting! Every piece is different, has unique quirks and oddities, and extreme amounts of information for me to learn.  I’ve become a better listener, writer, and negotiator due to necessity. I know my clients. Despite the economy tanking in the last few years, I’ve kept a steady supply of contacts happy.

How do I know if a project is right for me? Our initial meeting helps me determine whether or not we are a creative fit. If, for any reason whatsoever, I cannot communicate or negotiate effectively at that first meeting, I will walk away, hands down, I surrender. Because I know how much patience and passion it will take to conclude the entire oeuvre, whether it’s in three months, eighteen months, or three years down the road. And who wants to be frustrated or bored when they work? I’ll admit, there are moments, even hours when I roll my eyes with dread, but we become a team, heading for the same goal.

Do you know a ghostwriter? Want to become one? Over the next few months, I’ll explore the ins and outs from my perspective, giving you a peek behind the drafting curtain. Plus, I’ll share my tips for making it through those difficult and challenging assignments, what candy is best to snack on, and when not to social network if you’re under a nondisclosure agreement. ;)

I promise the ride will be like one from a traveling carnival; you’ll look at it hesitantly and then decide it may be worth the risk. Always hold the handrail and drop the bar until it is fully engaged…the ride is guaranteed to be bumpy!

Join me…

Ghostwriting: WTW

Ghostwriting: championing serious money 

Ghostwriting – Candy Networks

25 Comments leave one →
  1. simplysweetsunshine permalink
    May 29, 2012 2:05 am

    Seems very interesting. Looking forward to learning more!

    • May 30, 2012 12:39 am

      thankyouverymuch, hope to have the next installment up this week…thanks for hanging around leaving a thought trail :)

  2. May 7, 2012 3:24 pm

    Haven’t done much ghostwriting before, so I look forward to reading more about your work!

    • May 7, 2012 11:04 pm

      Oh, yay, glad to have you along for the ride! Thanks, Karen! :)

  3. Kim permalink
    May 6, 2012 3:32 am

    sounds intriguing! Look forward to Installment #2

    • May 6, 2012 12:38 pm

      thanks Kim!
      I appreciate your visit – love how your blog is shaping up…it was good to see you yesterday at LLS! :)

  4. May 4, 2012 5:03 am

    Outta my league Roxie, but I appreciate good information to chew on. Love the read. Thanks!

    • May 5, 2012 11:51 am

      Hi Reno,
      Thanks for tuning in, love for you to hang out till the end, perhaps you’ll find it tasty ;)
      namaste

  5. May 3, 2012 6:51 pm

    really enjoyed this piece, Roxie

    • May 3, 2012 7:30 pm

      thanks Dean, I’m looking forward to writing more, hope you’ll stay tuned ;)

  6. May 3, 2012 5:02 pm

    I am intrigued – now I know what you REALLY do! Well, I am beginning to know! And I am looking forward to the bumpy journey!

    • May 3, 2012 7:29 pm

      Hey Ann!
      yep, the curtain is drawn back and the real me will bare all, yikes – no one wants to see that, so I’ll be creative as I can as the series unfolds, hehehe. thanks for stopping by, and buckle up :)

  7. May 3, 2012 4:09 pm

    Really interested in this series. Done work for researchers, the state, and edu publishers – but grew weary. Maybe my storytelling skills would mesh with ghostwriting. So I’m getting all the snacks ready, settling in to get comfortable, and waiting to read more. Thanks

    • May 3, 2012 7:26 pm

      Hey Karen,
      kewl…sounds like you’ve got the idea, working with others is definitely tiresome and challanging, a lot different than working for yourself. But this is going to be fun, thanks for your interest! Snacks all ready, eh…boy I haven’t gotten the second installment written yet, yikes!

  8. May 3, 2012 4:03 pm

    i would love to become one. looking forward to the insight.

    • May 3, 2012 7:24 pm

      gosh, I hope I can deliver :)
      thanks for the company!

  9. May 3, 2012 3:52 pm

    Roxie,

    I am in. I am looking forward to this series. Thanks for sharing the ride.

    Linda A.

Trackbacks

  1. Who do Facebook. Vous deux. | Philosopher Mouse of the Hedge
  2. To Write or To Hire | Still Writing
  3. effective editing « Roxie's Blog
  4. Ghostwriting: candy networks « Roxie's Blog
  5. ghostwriting: championing serious money « Roxie's Blog
  6. To Write or To Hire | BookBuster
  7. Ghostwriting: WTW? « Roxie's Blog

thoughts?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 5,672 other followers

