Skip to content

Top Twos-Day: Summer Reading Lists

July 10, 2012

stock photo: office.com

It seems everyone around me has a summer reading list, and they’re already lagging lazily in check marks. Add to those ‘must reads’ I bring you two lists worthy of attention:

NPR’s Lesser Known Lit List (part of their 2012 Summer Reading Series) and Kirkus Reviews Tops Ten Summer Books, (though I think Kirkus Reviews Children’s blog links to their collection of notable books released in the past few months are equally impressive as a summer reading list).

namaste :)

more Top Twos-Days…

20 Comments leave one →
  1. July 12, 2012 7:25 pm

    Oops, forgot to add the book I’ve just finished to this summer list–Jon Steele’s The Watchers–great mysterious read! Seriously. Just out this June.

    • July 14, 2012 12:42 am

      ooo, hey, I’ll have to check it out, thanks for the head’s up, Eva! glad to add that to my nonlist, hehehe

  2. July 12, 2012 7:15 pm

    Lists can be interesting. But as for moi–one 17 page single spaced LIST of required reading turned me off ‘more’ lists. LOL.

    • July 14, 2012 12:41 am

      so right! I don’t make lists for things I can’t cross off anymore, LOL…self-defeating, dontcha think? appreciate your comments Eva! :)

  3. July 12, 2012 11:00 am

    Many decades ago I had a reading list, but the only list I keep now is a list of any Stephen King books that I haven’t read. Thus the list usually only has one book on it: his latest……..lol

    • July 12, 2012 1:52 pm

      That’s a great idea, Russel! a list that’s manageable, awesome…Stephen King only, eh? ;)

      • July 12, 2012 2:14 pm

        My husband works for Barnes & Noble, and the previous 38 years for Borders/Waldenbooks/Brentano’s. I have 500 or so pre-published and uncorrected proofs of books that I haven’t read, including a complete Stephen King collection, many with autographs. If I’m caught up on King, I blindly pick a book off of my PPUP bookshelves.

        I just finished an uncorrected and autographed proof of T. Jefferson Parker’s “Summer of Fear,” published in 1993. It’s fun reading the uncorrected proofs particularly to laugh at some of the errors the printers and copyeditors make to laugh at some of the errors the printers and copyeditors make.

        • July 14, 2012 12:38 am

          nice! wow, an uncorrected proof, what a cool read! it would be wonderful to catch more author’s proofs, what fun Mrs.!

  4. July 10, 2012 3:02 pm

    Welp, I better get crackin’. Those books ain’t gonna read themselves!

  5. July 10, 2012 2:40 pm

    list? huh? i’m too busy.

    • July 10, 2012 9:39 pm

      really? you have the same hours in a day as the rest of us Rich, just what are you doing, eh? ;)

  6. Claire A. Iannini permalink
    July 10, 2012 2:39 pm

    Can’t imagine when I’d get to read these, but – – –
    Broken Harbor (Tana French), Beautiful Ruins (Jess Walter), The Sandcastle Girls (Chris Bohjalian), and OF COURSE, Farewell to Arms (Ernest Heingway) with 47 endings as a tutorial – OMGosh – how marvelous. Thanks for sharing!

    • July 10, 2012 9:38 pm

      that’s on my list too, Claire, who knew how valuable Hemingway’s revisions would be, but they are!

  7. July 10, 2012 1:58 pm

    Checked out NPR list… great to see Farewell to Arms. Cool lists.

    • July 10, 2012 9:34 pm

      yay, I agree, which is truly why I chose that list, Yordie…thanks! :)

  8. July 10, 2012 1:17 pm

    Thanks, Roxie, for the list updates to add to my kinda already checkless lists! The only list receiving less checks on my desk is my summer writing list! Oops! ;-( Better get crackin’! ;-)

    • July 10, 2012 9:33 pm

      you and me both, Ann! that’s what my writing list looks like too, funneee!

thoughts?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 5,433 other followers

