Skip to content

Top Twos-Day: poverty and fairy tales

July 31, 2012

from Office.com

Ever wonder who gets galley copies of new releases? Want to enter to win one? Crown Publishing Group (imprint of Random House) is offering a copy of Fire in the Ashes: Twenty-Five Years Among the Poorest Children in America by Jonathan Kozol  here… (book is due out August 28th). Kirkus Reviews, Publisher’s Weekly, and Booklist have hailed it as one of most engaging, unique and illuminating looks at poverty, granting this novel stars and accolades worth investigating.

In the world of children’s publishing, check out the fresh spin on fairy tales by Glee’s own Chris Colfer. I’m not an automatic fan of celebs writing, most use ghosters, but this guy is on to something big! His debut, The Land of Stories: The Wishing Spell (Little, Brown & Company, Hatchette Book Group), is bound to be a treasured tale. Read the NYT review…(the book scored #1 July 25, and released July 17th!).

More Top Twos-Days…

11 Comments leave one →
  1. July 31, 2012 4:42 pm

    Hi! I have just nominated you for a Very Inspiring Blogger Award
    http://cristimoise.wordpress.com/2012/07/31/very-inspiring-blogger-award/

    I would be honoured if you accept!

  2. July 31, 2012 4:17 pm

    Roxie,
    I’m definitely interested in reading the book on poverty. I’m going to see if the public library in my county has ordered it. I’ll get on the waiting list, if it has. I registered for the free copy too. We’ll see.

    • August 1, 2012 12:55 am

      Oh I hope they’ll have a copy for you…let me know what you think, and if you win that free galley :)

  3. July 31, 2012 2:07 pm

    I think you may be right about that Land of Stories – looks pretty interesting. Fingers crossed

    • July 31, 2012 2:42 pm

      mine are too, Phil! I really hope it’s outta the ball park, he deserves this, such a great guy!

  4. July 31, 2012 2:04 pm

    Speaking of fairytales, I wrote one that I’m pretty pleased with (not that there isn’t room for improvement). I would love to hear what you think about it. When you have time and inclination? (It’s longer than most of my stuff.) Feel free to email me if you’d rather discuss it there.

    http://tasmith1122.wordpress.com/2012/03/20/rabbit-fairytales/

    • July 31, 2012 2:40 pm

      wonderful Yousei! I left a comment and emailed you my thoughts…please feel free to chat some more if you have any questions :)

    • August 1, 2012 3:48 am

      That sounded very interesting but it’s been taken down for editing … :-(
      I look forward to its return :-)

      • August 1, 2012 2:17 pm

        Sorry about that. After I left the above comment here, I had a comment from someone involved in publishing which suggested I remove it or publishers wouldn’t look at it. I’ll announce when it will be available or I’ll re-post it in the future. Thank you for the attempt to read it.

      • August 1, 2012 3:52 pm

        Oh, that was my fault Geoffrey…I suggested she take it down because she’d like to pursue publishing…but her other work is really good, I do hope you visit her site again, and thanks for hanging out with me so faithfully ;)

thoughts?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 5,237 other followers

