Skip to content

These annual contests offer great opportunities!

August 16, 2012

2012 Family Circle Fiction Contest

seeking original short story fiction up to 2500 words

deadline Sept. 7 2012

details

 

Fifth Annual Life Lessons Essay Contest

sponsored by Real Simple Magazine

this year’s topic: If you could change one decision that you made in the past, what would it be?

accepting essays with word limit maximum 1500/double spaced entries

deadline Sept. 13, 2012

details

 

Third Annual Rogue Bud Writing Competition

submit an “800 word essay on why I should select your novel or memoir to be considered for publication. Include a one page synopsis of your novel with the entry essay…”

deadline September 15, 2012

details

 

Glamour’s Ninth Essay Writing Contest

submit nonfiction essay of 2500-3500 words describing “an inspiring story about a life changing event, an obstacle overcome, a relationship or passion that’s defined you”

deadline November 15, 2012

details

 

I share “no fee” writing opportunities and contests: gathering this information from various sources. I advise “caveat emptor” or in this case, let the writer beware when a venue is unknown to you.

If you know of a venue open to subs contact me: roxiewillbe(at)live(dot)com. In the subject line please state: “writing opportunity”

For more opportunities check ‘Quick Finds’ or ‘Want More?’

Or sign up to receive email alerts as posts are freshly pressed

18 Comments leave one →
  1. September 11, 2012 1:24 pm

    Hi Roxie. It’s great all the contacts and information to help us Thank you. Also Thank you for liking my poems ‘The Bell and The Monk’. I have some children’s stories on my Blog I wrote some years ago and thought about getting them published. I was wandering if could you have a look at them and see what you think. They are The Adventurous Youngsters (4) and Daniels freind. I know you’re very busy but it would be great for a Professional opinion and advise if you can’t that’s Ok. Best Wishes, Malctg The Foureyed Poet.

    • September 12, 2012 11:36 pm

      My pleasure Foureyed! thank you for sticking with all my posts, you are AWESOME!! Yes, I’ll be right over and peek at those works! :)

  2. August 18, 2012 10:52 pm

    Diana is very inspiring. Thanks for the infor

    • August 19, 2012 12:37 am

      I agree, Phil, totally inspiring, and glad she had a few minutes to share her story :) are you entering the contest?

  3. August 16, 2012 9:29 pm

    Great information about contests, as usual. You’re great at sharing your resources with other writers. Thanks very much.

    Do something fun to celebrate you today.
    Joan Y. Edwards

    • August 16, 2012 9:35 pm

      Hey miss fab Joan! thanks, you’re so sweet! :)
      namaste

  4. August 16, 2012 4:55 pm

    Thanks so much for this list of contests, Roxie. You’re doing us all a great favor.
    And congratulations to Diana for winning last year’s Family Circle Contest–WOW!

    • August 16, 2012 9:35 pm

      Aw, hey, I’m so glad to be a source, thanks for reading, Marylin!
      Yes, isn’t that fab? Diana entered on a whim and won!!!
      good luck if you enter :)

  5. August 16, 2012 2:54 pm

    Thanks again Roxie for this. When I’m finished with all my book promotion, I’m considering submitting my work again, so your information will come in handy.

    • August 16, 2012 9:33 pm

      excellent! and I wish you all the best with your book! :)

  6. August 16, 2012 2:54 pm

    Thanks for all you do for us.

    • August 16, 2012 9:33 pm

      oh my no, the other is true, I thank all of you, and you, and especially you Ron, for hanging out with me and reading, leaving cool thoughts, plus entertaining poetry! ;)

  7. August 16, 2012 1:25 pm

    Keep ‘em coming, Roxie. You’re so good about keeping us informed. Thanks!

    • August 16, 2012 9:29 pm

      well, thank you Linda, you guys keep me psyched too! love hearing all the newbies gaining confidence to submit work, yaaay!!!

  8. August 16, 2012 1:19 pm

    Hi Roxie, I have to share that last year on a whim I decided to enter the Family Circle Contest…and I won First Prize!! So, to everyone out there, go for it! Give it a shot! If I can do it, then you have a chance, too. Just a little message of encouragement to spread around.
    Diana
    http://www.thebestchapter.com

    • August 16, 2012 9:29 pm

      Oh Diana, how cool! and to know you gave it a shot and it paid off! thanks for stopping by to lend encouragement!
      namaste

thoughts?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 5,277 other followers

