Skip to content

effective editing

September 7, 2012

Welcome autumn! With the change in seasons, I want to announce my next series will be on the topic of editing and begins Friday, September 14, 2012. The plan is for a weekly column instead of monthly (see the ghostwriting series here), because there is much more territory to cover. I’m also offering commenters an opportunity to win fabulous editing packages. Stay tuned for details.

As an editor, I’ll speak from my viewpoint…not for the rest of my peers out there. What I’ve found, first from a pure writer’s position, and then I’ll move over to stand under my editor’s hat and tell you what that perspective is like.

Because I do both, I want to share with you ways you can become a writer who effectively edits. Writers fall in love with all their words, characters and settings…how do you feel about deleting, cutting, and altering your works? Since the challenge is being able to stand back and get a full picture of the piece, are you prepared?

My goal is to bring you answers to such questions as: How do you begin editing? Are there steps or methods to apply in editing your own work? How can I tell if a character lacks dimension? What is the big deal about point-of-view? What is meant by transition? When is it ok to use the passive voice?

No matter what you write – songs, fiction, technical pieces, children’s works or anything in between – the weeks ahead will be humor-filled with a touch of seriousness, all wrapped in some sensational suggestions. Okay maybe a bit over the top, but it’s going to be helpful (doesn’t sound as eye-popping, now does it?). Join me, I pinky-swear you’ll learn something.;)

namaste

Roxie
 
 
Read the rules for the editing giveaway…
 
The series continues:

effective editing: it’s not terminal or is it?

effective editing: ABCs and 123s

effective editing: A is for Action

effective editing: The Bs have it

effective editing: What do you C?

effective editing: One Disguise

effective editing: Two – Rhythm and Reason

effective editing: Three – challenge, compare, and contain

 
clipart from office.com
31 Comments leave one →
  1. September 9, 2012 8:54 am

    Yes, please.

    • September 12, 2012 11:33 pm

      Miss fab Kate, I look forward to your insights as the next posts unfold. Thanks for joining the party! :)

  2. September 8, 2012 11:32 am

    Look forward to it.

    • September 12, 2012 11:32 pm

      thanks Misfits’! so glad to have you on board!

  3. Claire A. Iannini permalink
    September 8, 2012 1:16 am

    Marvelous – can’t wait to find out how/when/why/which ‘darlings’ need to have their heads chopped off!

    • September 8, 2012 1:40 am

      oh I love that! yes, we need to prune the healthy with the dead weight, LOL! glad to have your company, Claire :)

  4. September 7, 2012 11:34 pm

    I’m excited for this series!

  5. September 7, 2012 5:43 pm

    I’m looking forward to learning some new things. Self-editing sometimes feels like wandering through a maze blindfolded. I could use some new ways to look at it.

    • September 8, 2012 1:17 am

      you are so right, Sparks, self-editing is a maze! I hope to offer some keys and insights so that the process is more straightforward, thanks for hanging out with me! :)

  6. September 7, 2012 5:13 pm

    OK. You pinky-sweared. (insert snorting chuckle here) Seriously, sounds great! (except, darn, will have to watch commas and capitalization, now)

    • September 8, 2012 1:22 am

      exactly why I pinky swore, Phil! nah, no worries about punctuation! big picture, think big :)

  7. September 7, 2012 5:08 pm

    Sounds good!

    • September 8, 2012 1:32 am

      glad to have you along for the ride TBM :) thanks!

  8. September 7, 2012 4:20 pm

    Lookin’ forward to it!

  9. September 7, 2012 4:12 pm

    Sign me up! I’m willing!

    • September 8, 2012 1:33 am

      thanks Linda, so glad you’re willing to take the journey! :)

Trackbacks

  1. Top Twos-Day: the winning announcement! « Roxie's Blog
  2. Fabulous Effective Editing Giveaway « Roxie's Blog
  3. effective editing: Three – challenge, compare, and contain « Roxie's Blog
  4. effective editing: Two – Rhythm and Reason « Roxie's Blog
  5. effective editing: One Disguise « Roxie's Blog
  6. effective editing: What do you C? « Roxie's Blog
  7. The Bs have it… « Roxie's Blog
  8. effective editing: it’s not terminal or is it? « Roxie's Blog
  9. effective editing: A is for Action « Roxie's Blog
  10. effective editing: ABCs and 123s « Roxie's Blog
  11. My Weekly Update – Books and Beginnings | Sydney Aaliyah

thoughts?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 5,079 other followers

