Spotlight: Stephanie Beck

In the spotlight this week: Stephanie Beck romance author. Three of her works are releasing in October, one of these is an offshoot of her Freak Sorority Shorts. Find more of these bite-sized, holiday themed works on her website. What else is on Stephanie’s desk…zombies, marshmallows, and a milkman?

Q) Stephanie, tell us what’s happening for you in October.

A) October is a good month for me. I turn twenty-six this month and celebrate seven years of marriage with my wonderful husband, Tanner. Writing-wise, October 2010 is proving to be my busiest yet. Between Elves is being released from Noble Romance October 4th. It’s a m/m/f novella about two male elves and their newly ‘acquired’ female human. I think, like all of my works, the story is playful and even though I let my characters have plenty of ups and downs, it’s the kind of story that makes cheer leaders out of all of us.

Also coming out in October are David’s Angel and Cross Stitch and Brimstone. Those two are proving to be extra fun because they’ll release the week of October 18th, which just happens to be Freak Week on my Facebook page. There will be loads of games, prizes and really fun stories in addition to David’s Angel (a BDSM themed novel) and Cross Stitch and Brimstone (a fun paranormal Halloween short) finally being available. My Freak Sorority short stories celebrate normal and not so ‘normal’ women. Altogether, those things are promising to make October one crazy month!

November and December are also looking busy with Slow and Sweet, A Love Story With Zombies and A Winter Tale With Marshmallows being released. The first is a romantic, short zombie story with a small town flavor and a milkman-because who doesn’t like milkmen? A Winter Tale With Marshmallows is a paranormal novella with werewolves who bake and kick butt-sometimes simultaneously. The Freak Sorority Christmas Party will also be in December with the date just waiting to be decided.

Q) Where do your ideas come from, what writing habits can you share, and what does your creative space look like?

A) Since I am of mom of two very busy girls, my work space is right in the dining room where I can keep the girls in sight and always be ready to play puzzles or Legos. I love my desk. It’s an old roll top my husband inherited from his side of the family and it has plenty of elbow room. I do most of my work on a laptop so I take it with me on occasion to the living room and if I’m living wildly, I might just take it to the coffee shop.

Idea-wise I think a lot of that comes from watching other people and listening to stories from their lives. In real life I might not ever be able to understand another person’s motivation, but in translating a situation into a story, I can make that motivation. There’s something about taking an unknown situation or a misrepresented area and making it more approachable that really appeals to me. My writing habits include lots of aic (a$$ in chair) time. I like making lots of paper notes and when I’m stuck, I knit. The balance of writing, knitting and kid chasing seems to keep me busy without letting any one of those things overwhelm.

Q) Writers aren’t usually known as domestic divas—but you’re something of a mold-breaker. Dish about your call to be a “full-time mom, part-time writer” and the long juggling arm you must have to keep it all going. What advice would you offer other moms?

A) I’ve been a full-time mom for the last nearly three years. Once our second daughter was born, what I made while working as a nurse’s aide didn’t cover what daycare cost for two kids, so with my husband’s blessing, I’ve stayed home since. I really love it, but will be the first to say it is not for everyone. The writing part of the equation got pretty serious about a year ago when I wrote my debut novel Poppy’s Passions. All of a sudden, Mommy was a little busy and not everyone knew how to handle it. We still have times when I’m busy working and don’t realize it’s nearly dinner time and we don’t have much more than milk and cereal at the house. Oops :). But I make up for those times by baking some of the best chocolate chip cookies ever and always remembering fabric softener.

Freak Sorority Short

I function with lots of lists and by just refusing to get too busy. Being a mom is my main job and will always be my main job. But I’m a writer too. I make money on it, I pay taxes for it and so when someone assumes I can just cover the bake sale table or whatever because I stay at home and therefore have tons of time, I don’t feel guilty saying ‘no’. I think that’s the hardest thing for a mom who is trying to break into writing, forcing yourself and those around you to allow you the time and respect this profession deserves. Then there is mommy-guilt. Some feel it more acutely than others, but I just try to make a balance. Some weeks that is harder than others, but with practice I’ve found what times of the day work for writing and which ones I just have to let go to finger paints and park time. Being a mom and a writer isn’t rocket science, but some days it feels like it and that’s something only time has been able to help with me.

Thanks for the invite for the interview Roxie! I really appreciate your time 🙂

Thank you Stephanie! Happy Birthday

and Happy upcoming releases!

Find Stephanie on Facebook:

www.facebook.com/StephanieBeckAuthor

Read excerpts of her work and more on her website: www.stephaniebeck.net

 

4 thoughts on “Spotlight: Stephanie Beck

  1. Sorry I missed this on Wednesday, Stephanie. You crack me up. And seriously, who doesn’t like milkmen? LOL Nice peek into your life. Thanks for sharing and I can’t wait to read about your Zombies and bakings werewolves.

Yes, please, join the conversation.

