Mesmerized by the dancing flame

I’m staring down the candles of another birthday cake…but I haven’t made a wish. Actually, this cake is full of goodies: a keylime mouse topped with leggy ginger cookies nestled next to a delicate white chocolate rose drizzled in raspberry sauce. Yum! My mouth is watering all over again as I share this pic…

What do I wish for? Let me back up a minute. About ten years ago I began making short-term and long term goals right around the time nature said I appeared on this earth. I suppose it was my way of saying, hey, if I make my wish a goal, it’s more likely to come true.

With each passing year I also take a look at my commitments: am I spending enough family time? me time? I hear that when we reach the end of our lives we don’t reflect back on how much time we spent on work…I have always been a workaholic, badly out of balance. But since I began this birthday tradition, I’m able to keep work a bit more in check.

 Oh, sure, there are bursts of craziness. This month has been one that would have made the ‘old Roxie’ climb the walls like the main character in Charlotte Perkins Gilman’s short story, The Yellow Wallpaper If you haven’t read it, gosh, you are missing a peach of a short! Read it here, compliments of University of Virginia Library…

What do I wish for: my goals to come true.  And remarkably, those that I commit to paper do!

 One thing I’m thrilled to add to my list of ‘things new this year’ is the First Book Blogger Book Club. I was invited to participate on the ground-level of this fabulous project to draw more attention to First Book’s Young Adult selections.

 Our next read is ‘The Disreputable History of Frankie Landau-Banks’ by E. Lockhart.

Besides reading and writing, the calendar is full of critique group events. I cohosted an SCBWI ‘schmooze’ with the Charlotte NC Chapter on March 19. You can read the Charlotte group’s prez Carol Baldwin’s summary of what we learned in a round table discussion from Adams Literary. We sat awestruck as each of the three agents, Tracey Adams, Josh Adams, and Quinlan Lee read and offered thoughts on a first pages critique lasting an hour! Good stuff!

The next workshop for me is April 2, and I’ll be back to give you a run down from our speaker, M. Scott Douglass from Main Street Rag in Charlotte. In the meantime, I’m pushing pen to paper, revising the upcoming year’s goals and topping off the five-year list.

Forgive me for rambling and bouncing around…the excitement in me ricochets like fireworks when I see it all in black and white. *wink*

Now, do tell….

What birthday wishes do you whisper into that dancing flame? You can tell them aloud, they’ll still come true, ‘cause they can be magically transformed with the stroke of a pen into goals!  😉

6 thoughts on “Mesmerized by the dancing flame

    • thankyouverymuch! it was delish! and the waiter only described it as a keylime pyramid with cookies ~ no mention that they were legs alongside a huge white chocolate rose! 🙂

  1. Happy birthday to you, and may you have many happy returns of the day!

    In answer to your question: on my last birthday, I didn’t get a cake or candles to blow out. If I had, I’m sure I would have asked for someone to love, who would love me back. I guess I could wish for success as a writer (in terms of ability, and being noticed) or for a good job, or for an innovative business idea, but I’ve always thought that those things can be worked towards with a loving, stable and nurturing home life to support my efforts. Of course love can’t be planned, so I work at the writing, and keep trying for the others!

    • Thank you Ré! Absolutely…keep writing and the other things will line up! I appreciate your well-wishes for happy returns, and I hope the same for you – keep reaching for the light, its warmth keeps us going! 🙂

Yes, please, join the conversation.

