Top Twos-day: a thumbs-up and a groan

 

 

This week I came across a gotta-share book, tugging at my curiosity – The Journal of Best Practices: A Memoir of Marriage, Asperger Syndrome, and One Man’s Quest to Be a Better Husband  by David Finch, released January 3, 2012. If that title doesn’t jump out at you, punctuated by the ‘better husband’ bit…made me pause. And to know that we’re finally seeing narratives about Asperger’s, kudos to Simon and Schuster for publishing!

This work gets a thumbs up from Kirkus Reviews for its basic yellow cover and laundry folding lesson. Read a full review of this debut author’s journey from diagnosis to treatment decision.

 

Two days ago, I received an email questioning a publisher of some children’s board books. The sender asked me if I’m familiar with The Clever Factory Inc., as these books are unique in shape and similar to what this writer wants to market. I spent a few minutes searching for the company on the internet. Seems they dabble in book publishing, yet have no internet footprint. The Clever Factory has no submission guidelines – in fact, has no website! Are they a publisher? A middle company for distributors?

Most searches yield basic info such as this quote, “The Clever Factory Inc. engages in publishing of children’s books. The company was founded in 2001 and is based in Nashville, Tennessee.” from Bloomsburg Businessweek.

But who are they? Really? This is 2012, and inquiring writers want to know! If you have more information, please let me know so I can pass it along.

 For more Top Twos-day posts…

2 thoughts on “Top Twos-day: a thumbs-up and a groan

  1. Oh my god. The info on the Aspergers book landed on me heavily. My ex husband’s Aspergers dealt lethal blows to our marriage, but the one universally true thing about this subject is that every person with Aspergers is different — they share a certain cluster of specific traits — but are still different from each other.

    Nothing could change the hurtful dynamic in my marriage, but I hope this gentleman’s book can help someone else who’s struggling. It’s so good of you to mention it here.

    • wow, that hit home – one of the reasons I chose it for top twos-day…thanks for sharing your experience
      it can’t be easy, but with help I think it can be better
      namaste 🙂

Yes, please, join the conversation.

