literary journal seeks poetry, fiction and creative nonfiction

Green Hills Literary Lantern

published by Truman State University

seeks poetry, fiction (short stories, short shorts, and excerpts from novels) and creative nonfiction (“…essays, memoirs, travel-writing, excerpts from larger works, genre-blurring permutations…”)

accepting year round, publishes annually in June

details

 

If you know of a venue open to subs contact me: roxiewillbe(at)live(dot)com.

For more opportunities check ‘Quick Finds’ or ‘Must Find’

Or sign up to receive email alerts as posts are freshly pressed

5 thoughts on “literary journal seeks poetry, fiction and creative nonfiction

  1. A Poem by me, Ric A Ohge

    “Lady Light”

    You’re a Lily of the Valley,
    glistening in the morning dew,
    a bright star in a winter sky,
    a fire hidden in the shadows,
    where I search for you,
    trekking through the
    night-scape dreams,
    hungering for just a ray,
    a sign of where you may be,
    a mile maker on the road
    to take me home to you.

    Sometimes the dreams are heavy,
    a burden the soul can’t move.
    And when I can’t walk in
    shadows any more,
    I lay down in the rich
    and darkly scented forest, as
    the leaves rustle in the wind,
    blowing across my face
    like caressing fingers, while I
    drift away in silence.

    But when I open my eyes, I see
    the dawn of your coming, walking out
    of the door of dreams, a shining star,
    a Lily of the Valley, shimmering
    in the morning sun.

    Then, as suddenly, you turn your
    shining face, gather up your skirts,
    and begin moving again through
    this endless night, touching my
    heart with your words, a touch
    to my face as you pass.

    I rise, renewed, to follow after,
    seeking the traces of your
    fair illumination…your touch,
    your fiery eyes, your song
    echoing through the dark,
    because you are a Lily of
    the Valley glistening in the
    morning dew, a fire hidden
    in the shadows, a bright star
    in a midwinter sky.

    Let me know what you think.

Yes, please, join the conversation.

