Looking Ahead: No More Cancer?

I often bring you writing opportunities, or information for those interested in the writing and visual arts field. This time, I felt I had to bring some information that will benefit a wider range of readers. Last Wednesday evening I attended Davidson College’s H. L. Smith Lecture where guest speaker Professor Ronald Breslow from Columbia University spoke about his promising research on the new class of FDA-approved anticancer drugs. I was amazed at his knowledge and totally blown away by his conversational dialogue. I understood (most of, okay only some of) the chemistry, followed along while he detailed years of trial and error, and I felt his excitement about the recent results of some other potential uses for this molecule.

While his research is encouraging, we watch and wait as the structure is now in the market under the generic name Vorinostat. A large drug company offers it under another name, which I will not mention. Vorinostat works as a histone deacetylase (HDAC) inhibitor and is currently administered orally for the treatment of cutaneous manifestations of multiple myeloma. However, it is currently being studied for wide-ranging treatment/cure for other cancers and diseases. As with any medication, there are side-effects, yet the results are very promising: cancer cells are transformed from the inside-out, a revolutionary way to disrupt the growth and change the course of the disease. Read more about Vorinostat at the National Center for Biotechnology Information.

What I wanted to share here: hope is a heartbeat away. Literally, for curing cancer and other diseases, including those that require a cocktail to manage. If you want to learn about Vorinostat’s drug trials you can take part in, or if you know someone who would like to participate, check out Clinical Trials. These studies include Breast Cancer, Non-Hodgkin’s Lymphoma, Lung Cancer, and many others. If you are interested in viewing the latest clinical trials on a variety of topics, see the US National Institutes of Health’s site. Cancer is a nasty word, but with Dr. Breslow’s work and countless others, we have a lot to hope for on the horizon, perhaps even eliminating it from our everyday vocabulary.

namaste

4 thoughts on “Looking Ahead: No More Cancer?

    • The silent killer is meeting it’s match, this is the first real hope we’ve had of not destroying live, healthy cells! Thanks for pausing to share, Mar 😉

  1. It’s always hard for me to read anything with the word cancer in it when I’m already feeling down (too many prickly memories), but I recognize that this is positive news. Thanks for sharing it with us, Roxie.

    • Ré, I understand…I know the word too well myself, which is a major reason I wanted to bring this news to the forefront. This family of drugs is radical, not touching healthy cells at all! I appreciate that you stopped by to share your thoughts, and I wish you many happy days ahead. 🙂

Yes, please, join the conversation.

