Skip to content

Sunday Funny: Name it!

May 20, 2012

As I was packing for my vacation, I came across an old ticket stub, from a previous reunion. Which led me to think about the people there, logically taking me back in time, to all the other similar events, finally ending with a crystal clear picture of a high school “friend” whose name was Picklesymer. Yep, I think we “went out” for one week.*Shudders* did you follow that? It’s sooo okay if you didn’t…But, the point is, the name created a mental flip, recalling other odd names of people in my history. Another young man had the initials R. A. W. (you know who you are). Yikes, glad things didn’t progress with him!

Again, the point is in the name. How much thought do people invest in names? I’ve heard countless jokes about my own,  ♫♪ Rooooxannne ♫♪ You don’t have to put on the red dress tonight…♫♪ or Foxy Roxy sung to the tune Foxy Lady. If I go back far enough, to elementary school, my valentines were addressed to Rocksand.

What names send you howling, make you shake your head in pity, or wish you’d thought of that for one of your characters?

 

Read more Sunday Funnies…

29 Comments leave one →
  1. June 15, 2012 12:40 pm

    Very good. First thing that came to my mind is people I’ve known … Yep, I knew Holly Wood in college …. A friend wanting to name a kid Penny Anna, and then marries a Nickel.

    • June 15, 2012 2:47 pm

      funneee! so many people say to me when they know I ghostwrite, “I want to write a book and use the pen name paige turner…what do you think?” I roll my eyes and laugh, yeah they’re the first to think of that one!

      • June 15, 2012 4:18 pm

        Like the announcer Mike Rafone and the cabinet maker, Chester Drawers.But those I mentioned were real. Oddly … Holly was a TV major!!!

        • June 15, 2012 6:26 pm

          right! really? a tv major? *shaking head* wow… ;)

          • June 15, 2012 9:34 pm

            I don’t know whatever happened to her, but I recall out of college she did get an on-air start at a small station.

            • June 16, 2012 11:36 am

              probably worked her way up to station manager :)

  2. May 29, 2012 2:42 am

    Fun post.

    • May 30, 2012 12:38 am

      thanks Naomi! Really appreciate your visit, come on back anytime! :)

  3. May 21, 2012 3:03 pm

    I’m just a guy with a limerick reply…

    There is a young lady named Roxie,
    A lot of guys think she’s sooo foxy;
    She blogs quite a lot,
    She really looks hot,
    She’s a real big hit in Biloxi.

    Compliments of Humorous Interludes
    http://ronyaroshauthor.com/

    • May 21, 2012 11:06 pm

      what an honor for me…a treat, Ron! You are so very talented (((HUGS)))

  4. May 21, 2012 2:31 pm

    Great post!
    Funny what thoughts and ideas humans connect with specific combinations of sounds and letters?
    Maybe that why life is less complex for animals (Upon meeting another animal: food – not food?)
    Thanks for the laughs

    • May 21, 2012 11:24 pm

      Yay! glad you enjoyed it. Oooo, imagin life like that: food or not food…sounds like the makings of a great piece, I’ll borrow that idea, hehehe, thanks philo :)

      • May 21, 2012 11:44 pm

        It is an intriguing concept. Been mulling that over myself – go ahead – even if 2 people paint the same flower – it comes out differently.

        • May 21, 2012 11:46 pm

          love that! you’re totally right, tho’ it’ll be a while before I get to it…do it and let me know so I can cheer you on! Would love to read yours pub’d somewhere, so let me know when/where it comes out!

  5. May 21, 2012 3:59 am

    My maiden name was “Brady” (now it’s my middle). Growing up, kids used to sing the Brady Bunch song to me in school. Uggh.

    I still cringe when I hear it. :)

    • May 21, 2012 11:31 pm

      Yikes, Writerlious, I can only imagine! I know what you mean, people think when they sing me “Roxanne” by the Police that they’re the first to think of it…now I just laugh and say, hey, yeah…just like that one :)

  6. May 21, 2012 1:41 am

    The Law of Names

    Essence: Knowing the complete and true name of an object, being or process gives one complete control over it.

    Remarks: This works because a name is a definition (yes, even “Harold,” “Marie,” “Xunte,” and “Jasmine” were at one time) as well as a contagion link. Perhaps more importantly, it works because knowing the complete and “true” name of something or someone means that you have achieved a complete understanding of its or his nature. This is why, in most pre-industrial cultures, people are given “secret names” as well as “public names,” and why the sharing of a secret name is such an act of trust — because the secret name is considered to be very close to, if not identical with, the person’s true name.

    Keywords: “What’s in a name? — Everything!”
    ~Isaac Bonewits

    • May 21, 2012 11:33 pm

      very good history, celticwarrior! cpmplete control: own it!
      it is very important, tho’ one can’t know the future for a name, just it’s history :)

  7. May 20, 2012 7:13 pm

    You baited me Roxie! I just recently wrote a short story Poem called “What is in a Name” answering the question as to how I ever was named “Reno King Lawrence”. Things have settled since the brutal years when names are targets for creative brutality by other children who are discovering the power of creative word play. Funny how meanness can engage right brained activity as it did then – I was called Reno Nevada, Reno Beno, Renee, and the one I hated most was Ringo after the Beatles Drummer.

    Roxie was just a very cool name when I was growing up. If you were named Roxie in the 60′s, you had some young parents that were cool, hip, mod and liberated! lol!

    a name that I find sensually flamboyant, and scintillating is Rachelle. Pronounced R aa ch elle, not r a shell. Rachelle sounds like a crisp, ripe, cold fruit; yellow and flaming crimson on a firm surface, soft and ready to passionately burst with sweet nectar with a first, deep, teeth sinking bite!

    The end of my poem works tandem and connotes some of the same thoughts as you shared in your post. Seems we thought alike, even as our names are unique with the common poetic thread of alliteration when juxtaposed. Here is my poems ending:

    Seems, a name says more
    about those who give them;

    The name that goes before us
    and follows us close behind;
    distinct syllables
    define as a yell
    burn with familiarity
    through heaps of white noise,

    and that which we really are

    turns and gives response.

    • May 21, 2012 12:41 am

      Wow, had no idea, I agree kids were thoroughly cruel…your name is typical of a great, thoughtful one skewed by irrational behavior.
      I got an email from someone who’s nerve was touched by this post and your comment…know that you helped someone by a sharing your story. I appreciate the honesty.
      Delightful poem, I hope I see all of it in print one day. Do share the news and link when that happens, Reno :)
      Namaste

      • May 21, 2012 1:06 am

        I can only guess how one could have benefited from the sharing. But always glad to hear my blog presence touched a soul. :)

        • May 21, 2012 1:20 am

          It’s why we write :) you have touched many …

          • May 21, 2012 1:30 am

            Well you are just too contagious, when I think of you, you are for sure with me…don’t be intimidated by that. lol! It’s just a deep thought about how we penetrate space with presence…

            • May 21, 2012 1:44 am

              Humbled for sure, thank you, Reno :)

  8. May 20, 2012 4:02 pm

    I am going to remain SILENT regarding some ‘names’. But, LOL!!!!!!

    • May 21, 2012 12:27 am

      Hmmmm, never eveh *snap* thought you would, hehehea

  9. Claire A. Iannini permalink
    May 20, 2012 1:29 pm

    OMGosh – Love your Sunday Funny! – - – Since I’m from the ‘Howdy Doody’ era, are you ready for it – - – drum rolllllllllllllllllllllllllllll – - – I was Clarabell, the clown. Any old schoolmates would say that name was quite appropriate; along with Debussy’s ♫♪Clair de lune♫♪; and of course, ‘Claire’ by Gilbert O’Sullivan – ♫♪Claire, the moment I met you I swear…♫♪, and a list of people who’ve called me Clara b/c they knew a Clara; and ‘Claire, Bear’ – I guess b/c it rhymes – - – and ‘Miss Claire’ – I guess b/c they are younger, and we won’t even get into the last name!!! THIS WAS QUITE FUN – as usual, when I visit your blog. Have a great day – as you’ve started mine out quite nicely!!
    Signed by – who else – Claire

    • May 21, 2012 12:24 am

      Claire, can I laugh with you? Oh my dear, what would we do without our sense of humor! A stroll down memory lane, I hope brings joy and not pain…take care, sweet sistah! :)

Trackbacks

  1. Food. Not food. Simply good. « Philosopher Mouse of the Hedge

thoughts?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 5,071 other followers

