Top Twos-Day: the winning announcement!

This is the last column for this year, and

I’ve saved two announcements near and dear to my desk 😉

First: The winners of the effective editing series have been chosen! Last Friday the SCBWI (Society of Children’s Book Writers and Illustrators) Group, the Savvy Wordsmiths did the honors. Notifications have been sent to the winners, and now it’s time for the rest of the world to hear!

Everyone who commented had their names, and which in the series the comment was from, dropped into a Santa hat. Special thanks to SCBWI members Karen, Ann, Mary, AnnaMaria, and Mike for drawing the winners! Extra special shoutouts to Joan and Becky our FAB leaders!

Drummmmm Rolllllll pleazzzzzzz…the winners are:

 

Linda Andersen

 

lindamartinandersen  won the grand prize: three chapters or up to 100 pages edited for your comment on the Series Intro.lindamartinandersen

 

 

 

 

 

pennycoho

pennycoho won one synopsis edit (or proposal) up to twenty pages for your comment left on What do you C?Penny Coho

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Heylookawriterfellow won the first ten pages edit (or complete work if under 6,000 words) for your comment left on Three: 

Mike Allegra

Challenge, compare, contain.Heylookawriterfellow

 

 

 

 

 

 

Rich

Rich won a one page 


Rich Voza
 query or cover letter edit for your comment left on A is for Action.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Sparks In Shadow won a pitch edit (may substitute a bio) up to 300 words for your comment left on Three: Challenge, compare, contain.Sparks In Shadow

Ré Harris



Huge Congratulations to all who won!!!

 

 

 

Now on to the second bit of news: After much planning, thought, sweat, sleepless nights, and nervous nail biting – I am pleased to announce that I’m going into the publishing business. Or as my family might say, returning to my ink-stained roots! I will be starting a publishing company with three imprints…more details to come in January when the presses are rolling.

In the meantime, I wish all of you a wonderful holiday, filled with delicious treats, peaceful family gatherings, and a sense of deep contentment as the calendar page flips, unveiling a New Year!

Namaste,

Roxie

More Top Twos-Days…

55 thoughts on “Top Twos-Day: the winning announcement!

  1. First congratulations on your publishing venture from which, I have a hunch, you will derive a great deal of pleasure. I wish you the best of luck! Second, thank you Roxie for the (synopsis edit or proposal) prize, I apologize for my tardiness here, I was out of state for awhile and then the holidays descended …. I am most appreciative. there are several things I have been working on, now it’s just a matter of which one I should pick lol! Perhaps you can help me with this (actually I’m serious here!) Again thank you so much and a very belated Happy New Year! With affection Penny, xx

  2. You go girl! So happy and excited for you. CONGRATS and lots of GOOD LUCK as you launch your publishing company. Can’t wait to hear the name of it – and you’ve disclosed your imprints – NICE!!!! Soooo looking forward to hearing and sharing in all your excitement!!

  3. Congrats to all the winners!
    (Some little elf nagged me saying something big was happening in your corner of the world. Cheers for the new endeavor. You are bound to be a rising star that zaps into a real powerhouse. Not to mention how much fun and excitement will be had – even with all the frenzy! You know there are those here who will spread what ever word you need shouted into blogville. (the least we can do after all your posts and information)
    Merry merry – and jingle on!

    • I am humbled by your comments, Phil…wow! speechless.
      It’s still me, jess regular Roxie, so I really appreciate all the support. And don’t forget, when subs open, you be sure to send me your awesome stuff!
      Happy holidays 😉

    • You’re the best, Phil! yes, the blogville is a tweeting, hehehe couldn’t resist. One last meeting with the attorney on Tuesday and then name announcements!!! I’m getting pretty psyched! And you’re ready to submit some of your writing, yes????

  4. we’re all pretty psyched i’m sure. i’m sorry it took me so long to get here to see this. but this is an important and big this. and we’re all looking forward to learning more about the publishing venture. not a better person out there to take that step.

  5. Roxie,

    I’m a winner! Thank you so much! The grand prize too! I’m so happy.

    Congratulations on your publishing business decision. Wow! This is fantastic news for you and for writers and illustrators who can submit.

    • Super thrilled for you Linda!!! you deserve it!
      Working, working, the fingers are getting sore, LOL, but it’s fun, and we’ll be off to a grand start next week, when I can announce the imprint names!! 🙂

  6. Wow. Wow and another Wow. Congratulations dear Roxie. A Publishing Company !! Wow !! I shall not shake hands or I may get ink all over mine 😉 Ralph x

  7. Wow! The publishing biz! Ooh, I do so hope you have a children’s book imprint!

    And thank you, thank you, thank you in advance for your editing skills!

    Look at all the exclamation points I’m using! This post excites me!

    Ahem. I’ll stop now.

    • yes sir, Mike…children’s, literary fiction, and nonfiction imprints…more details coming 🙂
      thanks for being excited, I’m pretty psyched, too!

Yes, please, join the conversation.

