Top Twos-Day: Enjoy the Madness

N.O. photo by R. L. Hanna all rights reserved

N.O. photo by R. L. Hanna all rights reserved

Ok, since this is my blog, I’m going to do something I don’t usually do…focus on me. I know, please bear with me. Many of you have been so graciously waiting to hear about the publishing company. Seems like it’s two steps forward and one in neutral. Here we go: good news and bad news.

First the bad. My new publishing company has undergone a few challenges even before we hit the marketplace. But, as with anything, this is just a pothole in the road. I returned from New Orleans last week to have an emergency meeting for over two hours with my intellectual properties lawyer. We’ve been considering a situation of grave consequences. Someone close to me betrayed my confidence and used my company name to set up a competing entity.

I won’t go into details.  However, I’ll just say this issue almost made me slip down a path I didn’t want to take. Instead, we are forward focused. The name will be changed and those who attempted to thwart my company’s reputation will undoubtedly face karma, and may I say it is not always pretty.

Now, on to the good news. I’ve been invited to offer four classes at the South Carolina Writer’s Workshop, just south of Charlotte, in May. We’re sending out the publicity notices and we’d love to see any of you sign up if you happen to be in the area that day. Also scheduled to speak, artist and poet Jonathan K. Rice of Iodine Poetry Journal, Lee Q. Miller memoirist, and literary award-winning author Craig Faris.

My four topics are Children’s Picture Book Perplexities, Young Adult Enigmas, Fabulous Fiction Falsehoods, and Nonfiction Fibs. Should be a fun class, as we discuss issues which propel writing forward or keep writing stagnant. Plus we’ll see examples of what editors and publishers are seeking in each of the appropriate marketplaces. Details about the event…

namaste,

Roxie

 

Miss a Top Twos-Day? Catch up here…

20 thoughts on “Top Twos-Day: Enjoy the Madness

  1. I had a feeling something was up when i researched the original company name you listed, Roxie.
    Good luck to you.
    I still hope we can work together. You’re #1 in my book, Roxie!

  2. Roxie, you are a woman of extraordinary character and integrity. It is unfortunate that some of the people whom you meet and trust are not cut from that same cloth. You have already heard my thoughts on this matter, so I will not reiterate. But I will continue to applaud your commitment to put it behind you and move forward. Best wishes for your success. And yes, karma is…
    Namaste, my friend.

  3. Roxanne, unbelievable! So very sorry to hear but you are one classy lady and have the purest of hearts. Things will work out in your favor and be even better than ever. Look forward to hear just good news! Hate I’ll miss the Intensive this year~you’ll be FAB!!
    Kim

  4. Roxie, you know what I think already…just remember that all of your *real* friends are rooting for you. I am certain that you will get through this and be stronger than ever!

    To whoever did this to you, all I can say is “Shame on you!”

    Hugs,
    Becky

  5. I do hope said karma is in the form of a kick-ass lawsuit.

    I’m so sorry to hear about your misfortune, my friend. Be strong — and know that you have a lot of well-wishes out here rooting for you.

  6. Roxie, I am so sorry someone did that to you, especially someone who was supposedly a friend. But Brava! for you decision to continue with your goal and dreams. We’ll hold out serious hope that Karma kicks in big time, with emphasis on the kicks.
    Good luck!
    p.s. I agree with Ralph. Metaphorically speaking keep the new name tucked in your bra–play these new cards “close to the chest.”

  7. For goodness sake Roxie, no way.!! How could that person who is meant to be close to you do such a thing ?? Expletives galore !! You keep your new name tucked safely away in the cleavage of your bra where only your lawyer can get at it ……. metaphorically speaking 😉 Big hug. Ralph xox

Yes, please, join the conversation.

