Friday Pep Rally

image from office.com

image from office.com

Both as a country and individually, many have questioned the events in Massachusetts, Texas, and along the Mississippi River, plus countless other places worldwide with one word. Why?

Personally, I’ve been facing a quiet storm. One adviser and two other friends jumped on a band wagon to set up a ‘competing business’ under my company name. Why?

I don’t have the answer, to either of those questions. And honestly, I learned a long time ago, I may not find them. Life doesn’t come with a manual: “Flip to page 49, paragraph iii to address this issue.” But as sure as I’m writing this I will tell you, “Nothing is EVER wasted!” (Be sure you use this as a quote attributed to me, Roxie Hanna, k?)

My close friends know this mantra; tell me they hear those words in their own heads when they come across a situation that is unexpected or heartbreaking. I repeated the words aloud, swallowing the strength they offered, “Nothing is EVER wasted.”

Never one to theorize about politics, religion, or sciences, let me postulate that these events are connected. The commonality is people. People recovering.

So, after I saw interviews with those affected most by these instances, I gave myself a pep talk. “If folks can recover, and commit to a future, why am I even considering a moment of self-pity?”

I straightened my shoulders, picked up my proverbial pompoms and marched into the kitchen for a chunk of dark chocolate.

The name of the game is survival. For whatever time we have here. Chocolate is a survivor’s food. I AM a survivor. Of many things.

What does this have to do with writers?

Well, let me jump on my soapbox, pompom in each hand, “You can do this. No matter what reaction you face, situation that presents itself, or tragedy that plays out, you can and must continue on the path you started.” *waving pompoms*

You are a writer, and know that since, “nothing is ever wasted,” you can adjust

image from office.com

image from office.com

your attitude, edit your work, change your plot-line  or whatever you need to do for success as defined by you. Nike has something, Just Do It! And don’t stop.

We’re in this together, person to person, shoulder to shoulder, come hell or high water, or both.

*Exhaling, one more shake of those fluffy puffs in your direction,* this concludes our pep rally this week, “Go YOUUUU!” *setting pompoms down*.

namaste,

Roxie

30 thoughts on “Friday Pep Rally

  1. aloha Roxie,
    “Nothing is ever wasted.”—Roxie Hanna. yeah, this is it.

    I like this quote of yours, it explains a lot and it is spot on accurate, even when we do not know how it will benefit us or others.

    every so often a movie surprises me with a quote I latch on to—which of course is often from a book I haven’t read yet. The Best Exotic Marigold Hotel left one I’m sure many caught and I feel is also spot on accurate: “Everything will come right in the end. If it’s not right, it’s not the end yet.”

    as a cheerleader I lack a bit (okay, okay, a lot). as a full force forward, unleash me; what do you need? I mean besides dark chocolate (I suspect that will be coming in gaggles). images? visuals? I’m there.

    aloha with you. r.

  2. You’re going to survive and thrive, Roxie!
    I get a good vibe off you. Thanks for the pep talk; it couldn’t have come at a better time.
    In closing, I hope your business prospects improve soon, and not just for selfish reasons!

  3. SORRY, I LOST LAST COMMENT. LIKE I WAS SAYING, REAL FRIENDS DON’T BEHAVE THAT WAY. THEY HAVE EXPOSED THEIR HEARTS AND NOW YOU CAN MOVE FORWARD.
    KINGS AND QUEENS OF THE PAST HAVE HAD TO REMOVE THOSE WHO WERE NOT FOR THEM BEFORE THEY COULD RULE WITH SUCCESS. NOW YOU ARE FREE TO MOVE— KNOWING WHO IS FOR YOU.
    YEARS AGO I WROTE IN MY BOOK,”GOD, DOESN’T WASTE ANYTHING.” SOMETIMES THE LESSONS LEARNED ARE NOT FOR US, BUT FOR THE PEOPLE WHO CAME AGAINST US. I DO HOPE THEY LEARN. OUR PART IS TO FORGIVE AND MOVE ON WITH GOD’S PLAN. HE HAS EVEN A BETTER NAME FOR YOU.
    BY THE WAY, HE KNEW YOU COULD HANDLE BEING USED AS AN INSTRUMENT FOR THIS LESSON FOR THEM–WITHOUT HARBORING UNFORGIVENESS . WATCH AND SEE HIS GOODNESS. YOU GO GIRL!!!! HAVE A BEAUTIFUL DAY!
    ANNA

    • excellent points, Anna! thanks for your inspirational message, I really appreciate it! you are right, nothing, nothing is wasted. I’m excited now to see what will unfold 🙂
      namaste

  4. As your faithful domino here, keep shaking your pompoms 😉 grab another piece of chocolate, and thanks for the great pep talk!

  5. Don’t you dare put those pom-poms down Roxie !! Pick them up again ………. as soon as you’ve had another chocolate !!

    *singing*”We are the Roxie fans. ‘Ra. ‘Ra. ‘Ra”

    Ouch ! High kicking is not for me 😉 xox

  6. Barbara says:
    YES, this too shall pass and you will be richer for it, building on your own foundation.
    Abiresou, your life to you today.

  7. Give me an “R”! Give me an “O”! Give me an “X”! Give me an “I”! Give me an “E”! Whaddaya got? “ROXIE!!”
    Hell or high water! You are all over it!
    Namaste, my friend.

  8. Yes! Yes! “Nothing is ever wasted” by Roxie Hanna! You see … determination through crisis separates the wanna-be’s from those that actually create and do. The wanna-be’s content to take from others, the good news is they can’t take “the you that you are” the “you” that makes you so very special and capable of handling this and so much more, as do others when adversity rears it’s head. I am so proud of you Roxie! Now go eat that chocolate, I will gladly join you there or in whatever venture your creative mind takes you on! A supporter of yours for certain, Penny 🙂

  9. Friends? competing business? WHAT? ( Shall be a bit outraged to save you the trouble)
    Life is like sailing: periods of extreme calm and boredom accented by periods of extreme terror and frenzied action?
    You can do is figure there’s something to be learned form each event or experience. (after a short period of drama and screaming)
    Chaos is the only order?
    Gotta hang in there and look for the smiles.
    (and pom poms are sure to bring smiles!)
    Hang in there and thanks for telling us to, too. (and now dance off stage left…the direction…the stage hasn’t left – there is no comma there…is that a tiny smile I see? Enjoy the weekend!)

Yes, please, join the conversation.

