If you’re in the South, why not stop by?

Bridging the abyss poster

I’m getting ready to speak at the South Carolina Writer’s Workshop (SCWW) Intensive on May 18, 2013. If you’re in the area, I want to extend an invitation to you! This workshop, Bridging the Publishing Abyss,  is open to anyone who is a writer, interested in becoming a writer, or may be curious about the process of writing and getting published.

This year we welcome four speakers: Jonathan K. Rice, an award winning author, editor and publisher of the Iodine Poetry Journal;  Lee Q. Miller, author, historian and an adjunct professor of Sociology, Anthropology and Gerontology on Aging, Death and Grief at Winthrop University;  Roxie Hanna, editor, publisher and ghostwriter who this year has launched a traditional publishing firm featuring children’s books, fiction and non-fiction including poetry; and Craig Faris, a seventeen-time published author of short fiction, one-act plays and thriller novels.

We offer sessions for poets, children’s writers (picture book to YA), memoirists, as well as fiction, and nonfiction writers. Sign up for up to four of thirteen one-hour sessions by visiting the website http://www.rockhillscww.org/. 

The event includes lunch and is only $15.00. Feel free to pass this along to your friends who may be interested as well!

The  schedule:

8:45 – 9:15 Registration and Opening

9:15 – 10:15 Session One 

  1. Celebrating Life through Memoir part one: be sure to sign up for part two in Session Two
  2. The wrong way to get published
  3. Children’s Picture Book Perplexities

10:15 – 11:15 Session Two

  1. Celebrating Life through Memoir part two: be sure to sign up for part one in Session One
  2. Make your writing pop and grab attention 
  3. Fabulous Fiction Falsehoods

11:15-11:30 break

11:30 – 12:30 Session Three

  1.  Nuts and Bolts of Creating Legacy: an introduction
  2. Drowning the Agent
  3. How to get your poetry published
  4. Young Adult Enigmas

12:30 – 1:30 Lunch and Book Signing

1:30 – 2:30 Session Four

  1. The wrong way to get published
  2. How to get your poetry published
  3. Nonfiction Fibs

2:30–4:00 Book Signing and Readings by SCWW members

I’d love to see you there!

Roxie Hanna

28 thoughts on “If you’re in the South, why not stop by?

  1. I wish I could find a way to attend, Roxie, but it simply isn’t going to work.
    Its a shame really; I know I’d benefit greatly from this event. I could use the confidence boost attending a function like this would provide.
    Getting feedback has been the toughest part of my journey so far. I’ve gotten used to being ignored, but it still sucks!

  2. I’ve been to the Midwest twice in the past month. I’m sorry, but I just cannot face another surly airline agent—at least not until the end of summer when we go on vacation. Best wishes from San Francisco. Have a great conference!

    • oh man, sounds like a great story…when you’ve recovered, let me know if you’re writing about the surly agents, Jilanne, I’d love to read it! Thank you, I’ll share some things after the conference 🙂

  3. Hi Roxie 😀
    I see that you are the last speaker on all 4 sessions. A little bit of advice. They will either be asleep from the previous speakers or be looking at their watches and around at the others to see who will get to the coffee first. So hit them Roxie, with, possibly, a fly past on wires or a marching band 😉

    I am so sorry but I will not be able to attend even though I live in the South (of Spain). That lunchtime I will be attending a “no frills” lunch at Linda and Adrian’s. And I doubt if US Immigration would let me in to the USA after writing this 😉

    Give ’em something to remember !! Ralph xox 😀

    • love the advice, Ralph, can always use a marching band, jump on the wagon and we’ll lead the parade, LOL.
      Your lunch that day sounds fab, say ‘HI” to Linda and Adrian for me, and no worries about immigration, they’re watching college students, not us old folks 🙂

  4. That looks great! Unfortunately, I’m gone the two weekends before and just don’t think I’ll be up to be gone another weekend.

    Nancy

      • Thanks Roxie. I’m on a business trip, but will be close to my daughter. I’m planning to see her both this weekend and next. It’ll be nice to see her, and the business people I’m seeing are excited to have me come. It should be a good trip.

        • perfect trip, Nancy, combining your business with a visit to your daughter. Just spent yesterday with mine, what fun! I wish you save travels home 🙂

Yes, please, join the conversation.

