Top Twos-Day: Hide and Seek – a Writer’s Game

Sydney on her birthday

two hours old!

I keep putting off an update post about the month hiatus I claimed, but catching up on work is taking all my time. Well, it may not be the top two things on anyone else’s desk this week, but certainly on mine.

My granddaughter, Sydney’s, birth, after many sleepless nights! Go ahead, say it, “Ain’t she so cute?” She arrived July 3, weighing in at 9.1 lbs and measuring 22 ½ inches! OMGosh  she gave my daughter a difficult time, then they both experienced complications. Both are doing better. 🙂

I’ve promised my daughter and son-in-law that pics would not get passed around. Keep these to yourself, okay?

Sydney

hours later, looking just as cute!! look at that mug 🙂

Smooth sailing, baby and mum go home and I visit daily, trekking the 70 minute one-way trip through traffic and torrential rains. But on July 11th, bright and early a hot water heater pipe burst, flooding my living room. Now I have to say, I’m always looking on the bright side, so I was thankful it didn’t happen a week earlier, when no one was home and the whole house could have floated away!

The damage is minimal compared to those of you who have been flood victims, and my heart hurts for you. I cannot imagine the depth of loss. And the insurance company, Allstate, deserves special shoutouts. They knew how much traveling I was doing. Not only did they contact the mitigation team, get that all ironed out, but the check really was in the mail! My house is just short of back to normal. Cause, really what is normal?

I began this as a hide and seek post, and I certainly mean it. There are numerous tales to draw on, from the nurses sharing crackers with us as we camped out at the hospital, to my midnight experience at a McDonald’s, witnessing a car accident and stopping to help a young mother of two… 😉

Have you looked at your day to see what you might find? Normal moments with just a twist are a writer’s playground. I wish you happy seeking, and may your writing find all those wonderful stories. It’s good to be back!

namaste,

Roxie

40 thoughts on “Top Twos-Day: Hide and Seek – a Writer’s Game

  1. HEY GIRL, I CAN SEE YOU IN YOUR GRANDBABY. THERE IS JUST SOMETHING ABOUT HER THAT LOOKS LIKE YOU – ESP. THE FIRST PICTURE. YOUR DAUGHTER MUST LOOK LIKE YOU ALSO.
    HAVE A JOYFUL DAY!

  2. What a sweetheart, She is beautiful. My first granddaughter’s name – Sydney! a lovely name indeed, Sorry for your last few months worth of adventures, hope you’re not too overwhelmed dear friend …. do take care of you and I am so very grateful your daughter and your granddaughter are doing well! Take care of you, with affection, Penny 🙂

  3. HEY GIRL,
    SHE IS BEAUTIFUL! LIFE IS BITTER SWEET, FIRST THE BABY– THEN THE FLOOD. THIS IS ONLY A TEST AND YOU HAVE PASSED WITH FLYING COLORS. THE MATURITY YOU HAVE GAINED DUE TO LIFE’S EXPERIENCES IS SOARING TODAY. SHINE ON FOR ALL TO SEE GOD’S GRACE!
    HAVE A JOYFUL DAY,
    ANNA MC

    • the only way to view life, right? no sense getting all frustrated when the energy’s better spend on the solution, and the written word…lots of material that’s better’n a reality show! 😉

  4. Little Sydney is a live baby doll! What a little a beauty. I love your observation that ‘Normal moments with just a twist are a writer’s playground.’

  5. My grandmother would say that little girl is so lucky: she has cupid’s bow lips and she’ll look fabulous in red lipstick when older!
    Funny how events change your perspective on what’s important. Glad you didn’t wash away.
    Welcome back (although being there was probably a lot more fun…not restful – fun!)

    • I won’t tell her father about the red lipstick, he’s already on edge having a daughter, LOL. Perspective, yep, holding a lil bitty new life really does offer check. back soon…

  6. Have you got that little cutie sorted with a boyfriend yet? If not, my grandson is just about due and I’m sure he won’t mind an older woman. You’ve really had quite an eventful month, but what great ammunition for your blog for a while. I’d like to hear about your good Samaritan role at midnight outside McDonalds.
    My Congratulations to all the family on Sydney’s arrival. xxx Huge Hugs xxx

    • omgsoh!! no david, but my intern has a grandson who’s a few months older, hehehe, I can see Sydney’s daddy will be active, hope he’s up for it!
      oh, wait, it wasn’t a good Samaritan role at McDonalds, the tale is much, eh um more, interesting than that! 😉

  7. cute? She is Beautiful!
    Congratulations …somehow I think you will be one cool Grandma…!
    Glad you and all of yours are doing fine…
    feel free to send rain down here…we sure could use it…
    I hadn’t thought what twists I could find in my “normal” life..
    Thank you …You Have a wonderful evening…
    Take Care…
    )0(
    maryrose

      • soon PLEASE…
        when my grandson turned six I gave him some crystals, and other stones and books…his friends ask him where he got them, they wanted some, he told them “my Grandma” knows what I like, they said I was a “cool” grandma to give him rocks! LOLs…
        that made my day…
        )0(

  8. Hi Roxie. Wow !! From one extreme, the birth of your beautiful grandaughter (“Ain’t she so cute?”) to the other extreme, Noah’s Ark in your living room. One will never be bored at Roxie’s Place 😉 Ralph xox 😀

Yes, please, join the conversation.

