We don’t get a practice round at life

 

I’m baaaack! So why not celebrate with a song? I prefer Alternative Rock, but for today, I have an oldie on my mind. A nostalgic appreciative tribute, for my friends.

“Let your love fly like a bird on a wing, And let your love bind you to all livin’ things, And let your love shine and you’ll know what I mean, That’s the reason.” ─ The Bellamy Brothers.

Love heals. Good friends sending healing vibes, prayers, and messages heal, too. You all have helped me heal. Thank you for your kind letters, email, and thoughts, these past months. Your encouragement has lifted me more than you will know.

Good, bad and ugly things have happened in the world during my eight month absence. Sigh…

I passed the time concentrating on one goal: healing. Selfish for sure. Not only did I stop working, I ended all my volunteer duties: literacy organizations, mentoring writers and small businesses. I even closed my Facebook account. : )

Today I’ll share some very personal highlights. Which may have notes similar to a country song. You know, like, “My dog ran away, my wife is cheating on me, and my best friend stole my car.” That kind of song.

No disrespect directed at the country music industry. They have a way of writing that stabs into the heart of an issue, wrenching our emotions hither and yon. Add twanging stringed instruments, there you are pulled into the immediacy of the setting.

That’s good writing. We writers want our readers touched, drawn into the world we create. See, I meant it as a serious compliment.

So, after a long dry spell, I am back. Not quite 100%, but moving in that direction.

Spoiler alert, exclamation point police, the following post uses more than my allotment.

Now to my country song, sans music and rhyme:

Verse One – I closed the business, yet numerous details end up taking months to complete. My grandbaby was rushed to the hospital for breathing problems, TWICE! He is okay… And because I’m taking a non-traditional approach to this third bout with endometrial cancer, my family questions my sanity.

“You’ve got to know when to hold ’em, know when to fold ’em, know when to walk away, know when to run.” ─ Kenny Rogers.

Verse Two – The New Year rang in quietly. Like a turtle, slow and steady, I created a routine, gaining strength of mind and body. Then, sad news: my grandmother passed away. Days later, a slight concussion and a rescue cat rabies scare kept me vigilant! Happy to report that neither had permanent penalties.

“Well, I woke up Sunday morning, with no way to hold my head that didn’t hurt” ─ Johnny Cash.

Verse Three – I found my healing stride, YESS! As fate tends to deal equality, my heating and air unit quit, Reno, our long-haired tuxedo cat experienced two separate bladder blockages (emergency vet visits!), and my car retired, forever.

“There’s just a little old fashioned karma coming down. Just a little old fashioned justice going round. A little bit of sowing and a little bit of reaping, a little bit of laughing and a little bit of weeping. Just a little old fashioned karma coming down.” ─ Willie Nelson.

Verse Four – Same song, only more. Hawthorne, our tri-colored kitty quit eating, it may be this, or it may be that, still working with vet on what. Another emergency trip for my grandson, and tests, indicating allergies and asthma, for which he’s receiving meds. And then, less than two weeks ago, my mother passed away, after a difficult battle with Parkinson’s and Alzheimer’s.

JohnMichaelMontgomeryQuote@roxiewriter

“Life’s a dance you learn as you go. Sometimes you lead, sometimes you follow. Don’t worry about what you don’t know. Life’s a dance you learn as you go.” ─ John Michael Montgomery.

We don’t get a practice round at life, but there is comfort along the way. When I started collecting my thoughts for this post, it was about a month ago. Since then, many people across the globe have experienced personal tragedies. But, as I push through pain, and focus forward, it is my hope to encourage others who are hurting. Let’s embrace each other and grow stronger, together.

And keep a song in our hearts…

Till next time,

Roxie

20 thoughts on “We don’t get a practice round at life

  1. Pingback: Writers, fire up your Time Machine! | Significant Anonymity

  2. Boy, what a brave post that you have written dear Roxie. What a few months !
    I am so, so sorry to read of your losses and your illness my dear friend.
    You have many blogging friends and I am so pleased to be one of them and glad to see you back writing posts again.
    What can I do ? Not a lot, except give you a BIG HUG dear Roxie.
    Ralph xoxox ❤

  3. Roxie! Great to hear from you, woman! Sorry for your tribulations. They always seem to come in tsunamis, don’t they?

    Here’s a quote from Muhammad Ali: “God will not place a burden on a man’s shoulders knowing that he cannot carry it… I’m being tested to see if I’ll keep praying, to see if I’ll keep my faith. All great people are tested by God.”

    You’re one of the great people!

  4. Oh, cheers for struggling through so much and being able to keep moving forward. Music helps tht dance often. Great choices here.
    (For some reason I was worried about grand kid. Whew. My brother had asthma, severe allergies, and theyhad trouble finding soemthing he could eat and digest…running to the hospital with small child turning blue is scary…and he did that on occassion into JR high, but seems to have outgrown it.)
    So glad to see you again. Sending hugs and lots of positive energy. Ride onward Roxie!

    • You are spot on, Phil! My daughter was the same way, asthma and special baby formula due to allergies. It is quite scary when a young child has breathing trouble. Glad your brother is better, the more we know how to treat our bodies, the better they heal.
      Missed everyone but certainly felt healing energy, thank you bunches!

  5. Roxie,
    Great to have you back! So good of you to reach out to cheer and encourage others, especially when you’re going through so much tough stuff. So very sorry to hear of the loss of your cat, and close family members. I loved that you turned to country music to help express your feelings. Perfect! Much love sent your way. Prayers for continued healing too.

  6. Ohhhh, Roxie – Sweet Woman! So sorry about your family losses, your hurts, your struggle – LOVE your musical choices – LOVE that you shared, LOVE that you are winning – and most of all – LOVE YOU! So wonderful that you are back, and the prayers are still a’comin’ – LOL!

    • Awe! Claire you are the bestest!! Your support has been invaluable, and you, my dear friend, are PRICELESS!!! When I wander out and you are in town, we must do lunch! 😎

  7. It is wonderful to hear from you, Roxie, but I am so very sorry about your mother and grandmother. I will continue to keep you in my thoughts and prayers, my friend!

Yes, please, join the conversation.

