I smell a narcissist!

My cat, Hawthorne, loves himself. He’s 100% typical feline. If you’ve ever had a kitty, you know what I’m talking about. The felines fall smack into the narcissistic profile.

hawthorneposeroxiewriter

But we humans are giving them a run for the title.

A short time ago, I posted a story about a person who snapchatted a non-permissioned photo to her social media following. Here’s the link: Snapchat… Scroll down to find the story or I invite you to read the whole post.

The gal has since been criminally charged, reason.com has the whole story. Certainly not the pretty picture the model conjures up for herself.

Karma has an interesting way of dishing out delicacies. Not always a treat. But I digress.

Like my Hawthorne, I’m focusing more on indoor time, chasing the sun’s warmth and dodging its shifting shadow.

To compensate my missed garden time, my fingers play in potted dirt on the kitchen shelf. Often the weak yard plants hang out there along with established beauties.

The Tuesday before Thanksgiving, I purchased one preplanted bulb, nearly in bloom, adding it to the ledge.

It was an impulse buy, which I’m a sucker for, especially green ones with some lovely benefits. Anyway, since my daughter was stopping by with the grandkiblets, I thought they might get a kick out of seeing the hydroponic roots and the tall, slender white flowers.

Last time they visited, they thoroughly enjoyed bouncing around the giant sunflowers, sampling the sweet herbs, and marching on the rock decor.

As if on cue, Friday, the morning they were due to arrive, the pale paper flowers opened. And oh, my I forgot how one scented narcissus bulb could fill a house!

narcissusbloomroxiewriter

Hubs waltzed into the kitchen, happy the coffee was ready, but stopped, nose raised in the air. “I believe one of the cats must have had an accident. We better locate it quickly, it’s not suited for company.”

I joined him, searching for something, anything that indicated one of our kitties gifted us outside their litter pans.

After a couple minutes, hubs paused in front of the plant shelf, and pointed. “That’s it! Ohmygod, how did you find a flower that smells like cat logs?”

If I could have answered, I would have, but I was doubled over, laughing so hard I thought I might burst!

Two hours later, we welcomed our family. The kids touched the bulb’s green stalks, admired the tiny blooms, and particularly liked the spaghetti roots, commenting on how they wiggled like white worms in the water.

Then my daughter chimed in, “Remember the time we saw these in the grocery store, when I must have been only 7 or 8 years old?”

I nodded, the simultaneous giggle ignited. I composed myself, placing the glass vase back in its sunny spot, “You said you smelled a narcissist!”

It is my hope, dear friends, that the only narcissist you encounter this holiday season will be deeply rooted and pleasantly scented.

Anything come to your mind from holidays past? Do tell, there’s only you and I here…

🙂

14 thoughts on “I smell a narcissist!

  1. Wrapping up things by running back by…hmmm
    Waiting for sunset on Christmas Eve is like standing toes-over-the-edge on a high diving board.
    Every year we’d cruise casually by the window to keep an eye on the sun’s progress until it was officially evening.
    Then the shout “Christmas Eve Gift!” would ring out.
    You see, the traditions says that the first person to voice that phrase on Christmas Eve to another would be graced with good fortune and joy all the next year.
    (And of course, whomever was first won. Everything was a contest…)
    It’s more difficult to be first now with caller ID.
    As all those who have become my friends in blogland are spread widely across time zones, I’d like to wish you all “Christmas Eve Gift” now.
    And as I already feel so fortunate to have such wonderful readers and writers in this neighborhood, I wish to share any phrase acquired good fortune and joy with you in thanks.
    No matter where you are or what you are guided by, hope you have a very merry Christmas and a new year full of adventure and joy.
    Peace on earth and goodwill towards all creatures great and small.

    • Indeed, good fortune, and thank you for including me!
      Cheery New Yeary to you, 2017 will be interesting, for sure, but what joy we can spread as January approaches!

  2. As my father aged and did less gardening outdoors in the winter, we all searched for blubs he could grow indoors. Of course they always bllomed fabulously for him and adapted to the outdoor spot he always gave them and multiplied like crazy. I dug up a few of those before his house sold…they are miffed at my lack of garden talent, but managing over the years. Indoor bulbs do say Christmas here.
    (and model’s behavior. Oh, boo-hoo croc tears. Next time put brain in gear before doing something. Give her a few years – and ban her from ever using plastic surgery of any kind for part of her sentence.)

  3. Hi Roxie 🙂
    Heehee. What a funny post. Loved it ! I don’t think that my cats are narcissistic, I think they are more daft-dills.
    Take care my friend. Big hug. Ralph ❤

    • You are spot on, Sharon! I’ve learned with him that are noses sense smell totally different. Weird too! Hyacinths are another flower that makes him reel, lol.

  4. As a former cat owner and cat lover, yes … count me in on their narcissistic nature …. but a “flower that smells like cat logs” takes the cake … A toast to hubs.

Yes, please, join the conversation.

