Dear @realDonaldTrump, today is the perfect day to step onto the high road if you desire to unite and lead us. #WorldRecipe

How are you viewing the events of this past weekend: the inauguration, the comparative number disputes, the now-famous news conference in front of the CIA Memorial Wall?

I must say, I’m not surprised by any of the above. The Trump concept is quite self-centered: he wins, others lose.

What struck a chord of indignation with me occurred Sunday, on Meet the Press. Kellyanne Conway introduced a new phrase, “Alternative Facts”, when asked about the Trump’s Press Secretary’s media blast. Read the quote from Axios here.

Most unusual, and troublesome! I’m rereading all your wonderful suggestions from #WorldRecipe…thank you!

oneroxiewriter

I heard that the book 1984 by George Orwell is flying off the shelves. As a reader who writes, I love books. Read that one years ago, or I confess, tried numerous times to get through it. Now don’t chastise me, dystopian fiction is fine, I don’t prefer it.

I just finished reading Adversaries into Allies: Win People Over Without Manipulation or Coercion by Bob Burg.

A great reminder for me about win-win principles, with excellent scenarios for application both at work and in daily life. I highly recommend this book, or Bob Burg’s other work, The Go-Giver.

Speaking of writing, someone’s been busy penning executive orders that are sliding across the presidential desk. Nope, got nothing else to say ‘bout that, for I expected a monarchial approach.

Should we worry about the path our country is on, in light of a few pen strokes from the new Executive? Absolutely!

His words matter. What he does is just as important as what he says, and how he says it.

What can we do, if we are on the high road, as peaceful change makers?

peoplelegacyroxiewriter

Do you journal? Keep a good record of history, from this day forward. Your continued legacy makes a difference to the future generations. (A bit of a nod to 1984. See, I’m not anti-dystopian.)

To my journal, I’ve added my sentiment on President Obama’s exit. Yes, I was teary-eyed, sad.

But I am harkened by his words, from his last news conference.

“I believe in this country. I believe in the American people. I believe that people are more good than bad. I believe tragic things happen. I think there’s evil in the world, but I think at the end of the day, if we work hard and if we’re true to those things in us that feel true and feel right, that the world gets a little better each time.”

Full NY Times transcript here, this quote is from the very last few paragraphs.

Let’s get to work on making each day better, working on those things that are true and right – beginning in our own homes, stretching out to the neighbors and then widening our circle.

We’re not alone. We have the awesome pictures and stories from #sistermarch to encourage us. And many legacy shoulders on which we now stand.

stonewallroxiewriter

Together, we can create solid future, learning from our past, propelling us forward, one moment at a time.

What are some of your win-win bridge building ideas?

15 thoughts on “Dear @realDonaldTrump, today is the perfect day to step onto the high road if you desire to unite and lead us. #WorldRecipe

  1. Roxie, it’s good to read your blog. I am so down and distressed over all that this commander-in-brief has destroyed. Every social justice I worked to bring forward in the 60’s and 70’s – destroyed by this mad man. I worry for our kids and grandkids. You’ve got a great idea – I’m going to journal – I will not forget what he’s doing. Thanks for a bit of fun in an unfunny time. I will be marching in April.

    • Yay! I totally agree, and we still have work to do. It’s difficult to understand how many can turn the clock backwards, but more of us chose not to, and that motivates me. So glad to have you on board, Sharon. Let’s keep encouraging each other!

  2. Well done Roxie. I nodded on many good lines. Yep – he wins and other lose … he wins at all costs – even if he has to change the rules … and yep – how can he unite when he practices division around a self-centered approach.

  3. 1984 used to be required reading along side Brave New World, Atlas Shrugged, Lord of the Flies, and Animal Farm. Several of those are really short and quick reads. If not already read and on the bookshelves/e-readers, they should be.
    I’m pushing for schools to once again require debate and speech classes gr 3-12 so hopefully students can once again learn how to have civil discourse, construct logical and factual arguments without emotional inflammatory language, broad generalities, or demeaning, dismissive language towards their opponents…to learn to think on their feet and to stick to what is true – not “sort-of true” or “true if you look at this this way”….
    In addition, kids need the return of competitive sports in schools to teach how to be a good sport, and how to be gracious in winning as well as losing.
    I’m already dreading the ugliness of the next election…

      • I won’t run but will support. I have to see who is running locally. Our mayoral race for 2017 has already started (Gah! so sick of politics at this point). Our senators won’t be up for election in 2018 but reps will.

        • Ah, that’s about the same here, tho’ I don’t know who will run for mayor. I’ve been the quiet ghostwriter for some in politics, may need to be more vocal, lol.

Yes, please, join the conversation.

