Writing Inspiration from Little Miss Muffet, Three Blind Mice, and the Big Bad Wolf.

My life is a lot like fractured nursery rhymes and freaky fairy tales.

Little Miss Muffet’s got nothing on me with her skydiving spiders; I’ve got wasps sneaking in, darting hither and yon!

Three Blind Mice? Harrumph! More like four special needs rescue kitties!

The occasional Big Bad Wolf? Nope, hands down, the hot water pipes blowing out cause more troubles!

brokenpysankyroxiewriter

I did, dropped my beautiful Pysanky (Ukrainian Egg).

Although…

2017 looks like there’s a pattern emerging.

Ever hear of the curse of threes? One event occurs, followed by another, and then one more?

I see your heads nodding.

Trio alert!

  • My daughter had a severe asthma attack and was rushed to the hospital. She’s ok, they caught her pre-pneumonia.
  • My father fell, injuring his back. His compressed fracture is healing well.
  • My father-in-law fell, three times! He’s now recuperating in an assisted living facility.

Just like Humpty Dumpty’s cracked exterior was painfully duct taped and hot glued, they are picking up the pieces and moving on.

catchingzzzzroxiewriter

Hawthorne and Hemingway  🙂

Not surprising, I haven’t been home much, but I can say that Hem and Haw didn’t miss a meal, or a snooze!

Has the curse of three visited you?

28 thoughts on “Writing Inspiration from Little Miss Muffet, Three Blind Mice, and the Big Bad Wolf.

  1. The curse of three? How about the curse of 300! It’s a good week for me when nothing happens, and that’s rare enough. My favorite days are if I am not remembered. Learning to cope with extreme stress and duress is part of who I am. BUT Truth be told, as much as I’m complaining here (you may fill in the b—ing word here if you like) I do not have a terminal disease and I do have a wonderful immediate family. I count myself lucky.

    I hope all your family is now healthy and enjoying the last days of winter. All those falls – we older folks do fall, and our bones are brittle. But I think the asthma with your little one has got to be the worst – their illnesses change so quickly. Hopefully she’ll grow out of the worst of her asthma as she gets older.

    Love your cats’ names.

    • Thanks, Sharon! my kitties name bank has expanded over the years – 30 years of rescues, hehehe!
      the only b’word that I can think of is BEAUTIFUL! and that’s what you’re doing, beautifulling, lol!
      I’m right there with you on the stress thing. Deep breaths. Yes a wonderful family – heals the soul, body and mind. Appreciate your visits, take care of your bones, and your spirit!

  2. First I want to say….Your kitty’s are so precious Roxie….so cute!!! I agree, unfortunately, bad things usually come in trio’s. Ugh! I hope your daughter, dad, and father in law are feeling better. When something awful happens…you tend to know…there’s more coming!

      • Isn’t that just horrid. I’m not thinking too clearly, which is why I am taking a couple of days off. My BFF is moving away. Far away. We have walked together with our doggies almost every night for the past 11 years. She is one of those friends that your so blessed to have in your life…I am just soo sad, she leaves Friday, and I want to spend as much time as possible with her. I’m sorry to pour all this out on you. 😦

        • I totally get it, Kelley, it’s so important to take care of yourself, and time off is just what you need.
          maybe you and your BFF can work out skyping schedules plus an text emojo during the day?
          keep your chin up, you are strong!

          • Today the movers come, she’s all packed up. So at least we have that out of the way, and can enjoy the last couple days. Thank you Roxie for your concern, you are such a awesome woman! •.¸¸♥♥ ¸¸.•

  3. I can’t say the curse has visited me, but can I say, OMG those kitties!!! I want to try to pet their sweet soft furriness through the screen! And on a more serious note, sorry about your troubles. 😦

  4. Ouch, that is a lot to deal with at once! And yes, my disasters also come in threes a, or even sixes or nines have been known!

    • gosh that’s a good point, they’ve happened to me that way, though I always took a breath in counting, thinking it was another set of three’s! lol – but we’re still here, stronger than ever!
      I’ll watch for the power of nine from now on. 😉

  5. Roxie, the curse of threes has visited me so often it has become more like standard operating procedure. It is actually more surprising when things only happen in pairs or as one and dones!

  6. Hi Roxie 🙂
    Oh boy ! What a list of “oh boys !”. I am so sorry to read that all those things happened AND it’s only the end of February !
    I am okay and not had any problems this year. Maybe you have mine ! 😉
    Big hug. Ralph xxx

    • do-it-yourself (DIY) like home repair, upcycle, fiber art, etc.
      heads up, glad you’ve not had the terrible trio come your way, fingers crossed it doesn’t happen.
      appreciate your thoughts, Rob!

Yes, please, join the conversation.

